Review Rendezvous: 5/03/14

Down to the wire here, we’ve got the top three coming up. I really do hope you guys have been enjoying this, and that I’ve been able to suggest some amazing books to you. Books are seriously one of the best things in the world.

The Selection by Kiera Cass
Book stats:
Genre(s): Dystopian, romance
Medium: Print
Number of pages: 336
Publish date: April 24, 2012

The SelectionFor thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Yes, yes it is another dystopian. You should know by now that dystopian is pretty much my favorite genre. Anyways, on to the book.

This book suggestion I actually got from my sister, which rarely happens because I read a lot more than she does. However, I am amazingly glad that she loaned me the book to read. First of all can we talk about that cover? Seriously, of the millions and millions of covers it seems like I’ve seen, that is definitely near the top if not the top one.

Cass does a lovely job of incorporating so many different twists and turns and story lines into this one. At the beginning I wasn’t quite so sure I would like it, seemed a bit too Bachelorette-esque for me. But I quickly fell in love with her voice and her characters. One thing’s for sure, her main girl, America (ignore the name, I never said it was creative lol) is a kick-butt, “I-don’t-take-nonsense-from-anyone” type, which I love. Girls aren’t always simpering and weak and needing a guy to save her. True, she also doesn’t often think before she acts, which does get her into some situations, but for the most part she works her way out.

While I did highly enjoy this one, I can’t say for certain that I agree with the script that they were going to use for a television adaptation of it. Honestly, I’m sincerely hoping that Cass signed away most of her rights and couldn’t change anything about it, otherwise I lost a fair bit of respect for her. She weaves this wonderful tale full of creativity, and then lets a TV network pick it apart and make it far more inappropriate? Yikes.

There are two more books int he series, The Elite and The One. I have read the second, didn’t like it as much as the first but it was still a wonderful read. The One is going to be released soon, and from the looks of the book trailer, it will be highly interesting… (Plus I’m in love with the way they shot the trailer itself :))

Update (5/10/14): READ THIS SERIES! Oh my gosh, I just finished The One, and it is the most spectacular thing I’ve read in forever! You need to read it, it is simply a necessity. Go! Read it! You will NOT be disappointed! 🙂

Update (3/11/16): THERE’S A SEQUEL SERIES! I’m not giving away the premise because that could spoil things, but GO READ IT! The title of the first book is The Heir.

Rating:

HeartHeartHeartHeartHeart


I am a Book Depository affiliate, click here to purchase books through my link.

Skillshare is an online community full of amazing classes and brilliant teachers. Try out two free months with my code here!

Tell me what you think

